Nestled along a street near Tallinn Harbour is this fairytale, wooden church built on the initiative of Russian sailors.
Constructed from 1752 to 1755, St. Simeon's is the second Orthodox church to have sprung up as part of the suburban building boom that followed the Great Northern War.
Since the coastline was considerably closer to the city in those days, the church was built practically on the edge of the water, and its foundation required some landfill. According to legend, rubble from shipwrecks was used for this purpose.
The building was seriously damaged during the Soviet period, when it was turned into a sports hall. During this time it also lost its bell tower and onion dome. Fortunately the church was restored after Estonia regained independence, and since 2001, an Estonian Orthodox congregation has once again been active here.
based on 27 reviews
Came across this beautiful wooden church while walking to the supermarket but it was a pity it was closed. Apparently it was constructed by Russian sailors over 200 years ago.
This Orthodox church was built between 1755 and 1870. In the Soviet times, this small church near the port was used as a sports hall. Today it has been restored. It has unique woodcut Greek-style... Read more comments
We came by this small Orthodox church on our way to the port. It may be small but certainly rich inside.