Attractions & museums
original: //file.visittallinn.ee/8lvhrb/detail-hobuveskimaretpoldveer-turay20151.jpg
loaded://file.visittallinn.ee/8lvhrb/detail-hobuveskimaretpoldveer-turay20151.jpg
Photo: Maret Põldveer-Turay
original: //file.visittallinn.ee/8lvhrb/detail-hobuveskimaretpoldveer-turay20151.jpg
loaded://file.visittallinn.ee/8lvhrb/detail-hobuveskimaretpoldveer-turay20151.jpg

Hobuveski

This limestone building with a round floor plan and a basement has a diameter of 16 metres. Hobuveski, dating from 1379, was originally used for milling flour when the city was under siege or when watermills could not be used due to lack of water. The mill mechanism was operated by eight horses that turned it inside the building. This extremely unique construction displays historical works of stone art. Artistic stones that once belonged to the local houses found their way to the mill as a result of the houses being destroyed in the bombings of March 1944. The two floors exhibit weighhouse bas-reliefs, lintel stones, small stone terraces, window columns, etc. Today, the mill is also a venue for theatrical performances, other events, presentations, and mediaeval evenings for up to 140 people.
Share

TripAdvisor® Traveler Reviews

TripAdvisor logo tripadvisor rating 3.5 of 5

based on 22 reviews

  • Tucked away in the Old Town maze

    tripadvisor rating 4 of 5
    September 3, 2020 By MS_est

    Locals usually visit Hobuveski for Tallinn City Theatre plays. When walking in Old Town, you might not even happen upon the old mill. But it is just a few minute walk from St. Olaf's Church, or Fat... Read more comments

  • Interesting round building

    tripadvisor rating 4 of 5
    January 28, 2020 By Mikael F

    This limestone building is dating from 1379. It has a diameter of 16 meters. It was originally used for milling flour. The mill mechanism was operated by eight horses that turned it inside the... Read more comments

  • A curious building

    tripadvisor rating 3 of 5
    August 3, 2018 By Rami A

    We stopped there by accident and we sow quite a funny building and curious. It was closed but we found out that has history and served as a flour mill in times of need.