This unique museum bears two names and two architectural styles. The first writer to live there was Marie Under
, (1883-1980) one of Estonia’s best-known and Nobel prize-nominated poets. Under wrote about romance and nature as well as politics and her homeland. The original quaint, wooden house was built in 1933. At the beginning of the Soviet occupation of Estonia, Under’s family fled to Sweden, after which her Nõmme home was left to friend and fellow writer Friedebert Tuglas
. In 1976, after Tuglas’ death, the house was turned into a museum, and a Soviet-style extension was added. The centre is open by appointment only on weekdays, so call or email at least a few days in advance to arrange a tour.